Grief & Loss

Losing a loved one is one of the most difficult experiences in life.

Oftentimes, people are there to help and give comfort immediately after a loss. But, as time goes on, life can seem to demand that we move ahead and act as if nothing happened.

In 1969, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross defined five stages of grief:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

People go through these at different rates and not always in order. David Kessler has proposed a sixth stage of grief, entitled “Finding Meaning”. Working through these can help people process their grief and find a way to move forward.

There is no one right way to deal with grief. On occasion, people believe that the grieving process must take years and be excessively painful. They can get caught up in thinking that if they move on they would somehow be dishonoring the person’s memory. Sometimes people can get stuck here. Working with a therapist to honor your loss and allow grieving to happen can help you heal and move forward in your life.

I have 25 years of experience in working with people to process their grief and move ahead. If you are struggling, please contact me for help.

Organizational Consulting & Executive Coaching

Career Coaching


Individual & Couples Counseling